Subject Guides

Subject Guides

Places to start when doing research on Asia:

General Asia

Asia Statistics Sources - An Introductory Guide

This guide serves as an introduction to some of the statistics sources available in the Asia Reference collection, in addition to websites, databases and networked resources. Contact us if you need this guide.

Asian Fiction Guide

This guide provides the call number ranges for literature from the countries of Asia to allow for easier browsing of fiction in the Kroch Asia Book Stacks. Contact us if you need this guide.

Library Guides

This page provides links to Library Guides on different topics.

East Asia

     China Subject Guides

     Japan Subject Guides

     Korea Subject Guides

Southeast Asia

South Asia

Islam Studies

 

Other Guides:

Looking for help getting started on a topic? Try these sources below:

Oxford Bibliographies Online

These bibliographies are a great place to start for recommended readings on many topics dealing with Asia. "Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable."

Introductory Handbooks 

Routledge Handbooks

"Our Handbooks and Companions address new developments in the Social Sciences and Humanities, while providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines and the primary debates of today.

  • Each Handbook and Companion draws together newly commissioned work to provide a comprehensive overview of a sub-discipline, and the primary debates of today.
  • The international team of contributors to each Handbook and Companion has been specially chosen for their expertise and knowledge in the field.
  • Each Handbook and Companion is introduced and contextualized by leading subject specialists, lending coherence and authority to each volume." 

https://www.routledge.com/handbooks

 

Cover book: The Routledge Handbook of Accounting in Asia

The Routledge Handbook of Accounting in Asia
London ; New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2018.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia HF5616.A78 R68 2018
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128722

 

Book cover Routledge Handbook of Africa-Asia Relations

Routledge Handbook of Africa-Asia Relations
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128742

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Asia in World Politics

Routledge Handbook of Asia in World Politics
London : Taylor and Francis, 2017.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128738

 

Cover of book The Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies

Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies
New York, NY : Routledge, 2017.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11022421

 

Asian Boderlands

Routledge Handbook of Asian Borderlands
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
Online Access:  
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/10320459

 

Cover of book The Routledge Handbook of Asian Demography

Routledge Handbook of Asian demography
London ; New York : Routledge, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11130323

 

Asian Education

Handbook of Asian Education : A Cultural Perspective
New York : Routledge, 2011.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia
Oversize LA1141 .H38 2011 +
Online Copy:
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128643

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Asian Law

Routledge Handbook of Asian Law
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2017.
Online Copy:  https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/10984472

 

Cover of book Routledge Handbook of Asian Migrations

Routledge Handbook of Asian Migrations
London : Taylor and Francis, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128727

 

Asian Regionalism

Routledge Handbook of Asian Regionalism
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon [UK] ; New York : Routledge, 2012.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia JZ5333 .R68 2012 +
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128641

 

Asian Security Studies

The Routledge Handbook of Asian Security Studies
New York : Routledge, 2018. Second Edition
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128704

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Asian Theatre

Routledge Handbook of Asian Theatre
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2016.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128721

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Banking and Finance in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Banking and Finance in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2019.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128707
 

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Civil Society in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Civil Society in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128679

 

Book cover Routledge Handbook of corruption in Asia

Routledge Handbook of corruption in Asia
England ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia HV6771.A758 R68 2017
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128745

 

Book Cover Routledge Handbook of Cultural and Creative Industries in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Cultural and Creative Industries in Asia
New York : Routledge, 2019.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128728

 

Book Cover Routledge Handbook of Energy in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Energy in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia Oversize HD9502.A782 R68 2018 +
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128725

 

Cover of book Routledge Handbook of Environment and Society in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Environment and Society in Asia
London : Routledge, 2014.
Online Copy:
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/8759702

 

Families in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Families in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2015.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/8908521

 

Book cover Routledge Handbook of Food in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Food in Asia
London : Routledge, 2019.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128714

 

Book cover Routledge Handbook of Global Public Health in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Global Public Health in Asia
London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128780

 

Heritage in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Heritage in Asia
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2012.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia DS12 .R68 2012
Online Copy: 
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128631          

 

Book cover Routledge Handbook of Human Resource Management in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Human Resource Management in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11069471

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Human Rights in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Human Rights in Asia
Boca Raton, FL : Routledge, [2018].
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128746

 

New Media in Asia

Routledge Handbook of new media in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2016.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia HN655.2.I56 R68 2016 +
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128773

 

Politics in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Politics in Asia
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge, 2018.
Online Copy:  
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/10804570

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Psychiatry in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Psychiatry in Asia
London ; New York : Routledge, 2016.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128788

 

Religions in Asia

Routledge Handbook of religions in Asia
London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2015.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia BL1033 .R68 2015 +
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128766

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Sexuality Studies in East Asia

Routledge Handbook of Sexuality Studies in East Asia
London ; New York : Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group, 2015.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia HQ21 .R876 2015 +
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128774

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Development in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Development in Asia
Boca Raton, FL : Routledge, an imprint of Taylor and Francis, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11345705

 

book cover The Routledge Handbook of Tourism in Asia

The Routledge Handbook of Tourism in Asia
London ; New York : Routledge, 2017.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128772

 

book cover Routledge Handbook of Transport in Asia

Routledge Handbook of Transport in Asia
Boca Raton, FL : Routledge, an imprint of Taylor and Francis, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128752

 

book cover Routledge International Handbook of Language Education Policy in Asia

Routledge International Handbook of Language Education Policy in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2019.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128730

 

book cover Routledge International Handbook of Multicultural Education Research in Asia Pacific

Routledge International Handbook of Multicultural Education Research in Asia Pacific
London : Taylor and Francis, 2018.
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128791

 

Cover of book Routledge International Handbook of Schools and Schooling in Asia

Routledge International Handbook of Schools and Schooling in Asia
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia Oversize LA1051 .R675 2018 +
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128743

 

Cover of book The Austronesian Languages of Asia and Madagascar

The Austronesian Languages of Asia and Madagascar
London ; New York : Routledge, 2004.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia PL5026 .A87 2005
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128668

 

International Relations

East and South-East Asia: international relations and security perspectives
New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2013.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia JZ1720 .E134 2013
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128628

 

Cover of book The Buddhist World

The Buddhist World
London ; New York : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2016.
Paper Copy: Kroch Library Asia BQ4055 .B8535 2016
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/11128739

 

Oxford Handbooks

 

Asian Business

Oxford Handbook of Asian Business Systems
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2014.
Kroch Library Asia Oversize HD70.A78 O94 2014 +
Online Copy:
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9425316

 

Christianity in Asia

The Oxford Handbook of Christianity in Asia
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, USA, 2014.

Kroch Library Asia BR1065 .O94 2014
Online Copy:
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9425353

 

International Relations of Asia

The Oxford Handbook of the International Relations of Asia
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2014]
Kroch Library Asia Oversize JZ1980 .O94 2014 + 
Online Copy:
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9425776

 

Contemporary Buddhism

The Oxford Handbook of Contemporary Buddhism
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2017]
Kroch Library Asia Oversize BQ4055 .O94 2017 +
Online Copy:  
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9856628 

 

Economics of the Pacific Rim

The Oxford Handbook of the Economics of the Pacific Rim
New York : Oxford University Press, [2014]
Olin Library Oversize HC681 .O94 2014 + 
Online Copy:   
https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9425758   

 

Asian American History

The Oxford Handbook of Asian American History
New York : Oxford University Press, [2016]
Kroch Library Asia Oversize E184.A75 O94 2016 +       
Online Copy: https://newcatalog.library.cornell.edu/catalog/9537696

 

Other Handbooks

 

Terrorism in the Asia-Pacific

 Handbook of Terrorism in the Asia-Pacific
London : Imperial College Press, [2016]

Kroch Library Asia Oversize HV6433.A78 H36 2016 +