Newspapers

China Core Newspapers (CCND)
Catalog Title: China Core Newspapers
The CCND selects full-text news and articles from over 1,000 major newspapers published in mainland China since 2000. As of August 2005, the article count exceeded 4.4 million.
People’s Daily 人民日报图文数据库
Catalog Title: Ren min ri bao tu wen shu ju ku
The People’s Daily database includes full-text news and articles from the newspaper since its initial issue published in 1946 up to the present. It updates daily.
Global Times 环球时报 Click on "Please click here to enter"
Catalog Title: Global Times or Huan qiu shi bao
The Global Times database includes full-text news and articles from the newspaper from 1993 up to the present. It updates daily.
Shen Bao 申报
Catalog Title: Shen Bao
Shen Bao, known in English as Shanghai News, was a newspaper published from April 30, 1872 to May 27, 1949 in ShanghaiChina. Founded by Ernest Major, a British businessman, Shen Bao was one of the first modern Chinese newspapers. It played a pivotal role in the formation of public opinion during its publication. The newspaper was shut down in May 1949 when the People's Liberation Army took Shanghai.
South China Morning Post
Catalog Title: South China Morning Post
Available from multiple sources; check catalog for details.
Shanghai Evening Post and Mercury
Catalog Title: Da cheng gu zhi dui
Comprehensive archival materials database related to Chinese history, literature, political science & etc. Includes Chinese rare books, books published during Republic period; periodicals published during Republic period, local gazetteers and history of Chinese Communist Party.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection
Catalog Title: ProQuest historical newspapers Chinese Newspapers Collection

This is a collection of English Language Chinese historical newspapers from 12 newspapers spanning over 120 years. This collection offers critical perspectives of modern Chinese history with reporting of the important transition of more than 2000 years of imperial rule to the founding of the Republic.

Titles included:

  • The Canton Times (1919-1920)
  • The China Critic (1939-1946)
  • China Monthly Review (1950-1953)
  • The China Press (1925-1938)
  • The China Weekly Review (1923-1950)
  • The Chinese Recorder (1912-1938)
  • The Chinese Recorder and Educational Review (1939-1941)
  • The Chinese Recorder and Missionary Journal (1868-1912)
  • The Chinese Repository (1832-1851)
  • Millard's China National Review (1919-1919)
  • Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1919)
  • Millard's Review of the Far East (1919-1921)
  • The North-China Herald (1850-1867)
  • The North-China Herald and Market Report (1867-1869)
  • The North-China Herald and Supreme Court & Consular Gazette (1870-1941)
  • Peking Daily News (1914-1917), English ed.
  • Peking Gazette (1915-1917)
  • The Peking Leader (1918-1919)
  • The Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921)
  • The Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
  • The Weekly Review (1922-1923)
  • The Weekly Review of the Far East (1921-1922)
Taiwan Nichi Nichi Shinpo (1898-1944)
 
Ta Kung Pao Full Text Database (1902-1949)