Catalogs: Union Catalog System

Union catalogs are collective catalogs of a large number of libraries, including many non-US libraries that share information about their holdings. While WorldCat, a union catalog for many academic and public libraries in the world, serves as a major library database resource, other union catalog search resources such as CALIS in China, Webcat & Tokyo University OPAC in Japan, and KOLIS-Net in Korea are now available and serve as “WorldCat” equivalents in East Asia.

United States
WorldCat
OCLC WorldCat contains more than 1 billion cataloging items by 10,000 OCLC member libraries. The database contains bibliographic records of books, journals, maps, visual materials and etc. WorldCat allows users to enter terms in East Asian scripts (Chinese, Japanese and Korean), as well as Romanization, to search and locate the item.
Mainland China
CALIS China Academic Library and Information System (联合目录公共检索)
CALIS is a nation-wide collaborative project of China’s academic libraries started in 1998 with the primary service center located in Beijing University. It accepts Chinese as well as English as search input. Both simplified and traditional Chinese would yield the same search result. However, CALIS does not accept pinyin as a search input.
Taiwan
NBINet National Bibliographic Information Network (全国图书书目资讯网)
A total of 79 libraries in Taiwan, including major academic libraries, participate in this system.
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Academic Library Union Catalog
Seven university libraries in Hong Kong participate in this system.
Singapore
NLB National Library Board Union Catalog
This system covers all academic, public, and governmental libraries in Singapore.
United Kingdom
UK Union Catalog of Chinese Books
The UK Union Catalogue of Chinese Books contains records from the British Library, Cambridge, Durham, Edinburgh, Leeds, Oxford and SOAS.
Europe
EVOCS European Virtual OPA for Chinese Studies
Sixteen major Sinological libraries in Europe (Germany, the U.K, France, and Belgium) participate in this system.
Japan
Webcat Plus
Webcat Plus is the system for searching the online union catalog database of books and journals held in university libraries in Japan.
Japan
The University of Tokyo OPAC
The University of Tokyo OPAC allows users to search the holdings of the over 50 libraries in the University of Tokyo system. It shows users the contents of a book in the University of Tokyo system by checking the Book Contents link at the end of each line (under ISBN). The catalog has both an English and Japanese search screen. The search screen also allows users to search Webcat either on its own or in combination with the OPAC.
Korea
KOLIS-Net Korean Library Information Service Network
KOLIS serves as the online union catalog database for 550 libraries in South Korea. The database can handle search requests and display of items not only in Korean and English, but also in Japanese, archaic hangul, Russian, and Greek scripts.