Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Note: All titles are located in the Severinghaus Reading Room unless indicated otherwise.

Southeast Asia/Asia General

Dictionary of the modern politics of South-East Asia, 3rd ed. London; New York: Routledge, 2001. (DS526.7 .L45x 2001)

Dong fang wen hua ci dian.  Peking: Beijing da xue chu ban she, 1993.  (DS12.T84x 1993) (in Chinese)

Dong nan Ya li shi ci dian.  Shanghai: Shanghai ci shu chu ban she, 1995. (DS524.T86w 1995) (in Chinese)

Encyclopedia of ancient Asian civilizations.  New York: Facts on File, c2004. (DS12 .H5 2004 +)

Encyclopaedia of Asian civilizations.  Villecresnes, France: L. Frédéric, c1977-1984. (DS4.L88) (10 v. in 9)

Encyclopedia of Asian culture.  New Delhi: Vision Books, 1999. (DS12 .E53 1999 +)

Encyclopedia of modern Asia.  New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons; Farmington Hills, MI: Thomson/Gale, c2002. (DS4 .L48x 2002 +)

Encyclopaedia of the South-east Asian ethnography: communities and tribes.  Delhi: Global Vision, 2004. (DS523.3 .E53 2004 +)

Historical dictionary of ancient Southeast Asia.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2007.  (DS524 .M56 2007)

A political and economic dictionary of South-East Asia. London; New York: Europa Publications, 2004.  (DS518.1 .T35 2004)

Southeast Asia: a historical encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2004. (DS524 .S68 2004 +)

Tōnan Ajia o shiru jiten = Cyclopedia of South-East Asia. Tōkyō: Heibonsha, 1986.  (DS504.T66) (in Japanese)

Tōnan Ajia shakai bunka jiten.  Tōkyō: Tōkyōdō Shuppan, 1978. (DS504.K22) (in Japanese)

Brunei

 Historical dictionary of Brunei Darussalam.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997. (DS650.5 .R36 1997)

Burma

Historical dictionary of Burma (Myanmar). Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 2017. 2nd ed. (Asia Reference DS528.34 .S44 2017)

Myan Ma Cvay Cum Kyan Ca Pe Biman e Yup Pra bahu suta bhan.  Ran Kun: Myan ma nuin san, 1954.  (AE16 .M99+) (in Burmese) (12 v.)

Cambodia

Historical dictionary of Cambodia.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2003. (DS554.25 .C67x 2003)

Indonesia

A dictionary of Indonesian history since 1900: over 500 people, events, and ideas that have contributed to the history of Indonesia this century.  Sydney: Sunda Publications, 1992. (DS633 .C56x 1993)

Ensiklopedi Islam Indonesia.  Jakarta: Djambatan, 1992. (BP40 .E57 1992+)

Ensiklopedia Islam di Indonesia.  Jakarta: Departemen Agama R.I., Direktorat Jenderal Pembinaan Kelembagaan Agama Islam, Proyek Peningkatan Prasarana dan Sarana Perguruan Tinggi Ilmu Agama/IAIN, 1987/1988. (BP40 .E59+) (3v.)

Ensiklopedi Jakarta: culture & heritage.  Jakarta: Pemerintah Provinsi Daerah Khusus Ibukota Jakarta, Dinas Kebudayaan dan Permuseuman, c2005. (DS646.29.D5 E57 2005) (in Indonesian)

Ensiklopedi nasional Indonesia.  Jakarta: Cipta Adi Pustaka, 1988-1991. (AE33 .E61+) (18v.). Suplemen.  Jakarta: Cipta Adi Pustaka, 1994. (AE33 .E61 1994 suppl. +) (in Indonesian)

Historical dictionary of Indonesia. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, [2015]. 3rd ed. (DS633 .C75x 2015)

Indonesian heritage.  Jakarta: Published by Buku Antar Bangsa for Grolier International: Distributed exclusively by PT. Widyadara, c1996-. (DS615 .I532w 1996) (10 v.)

Leksikon Islam.  Jakarta: Pustazet Perkasa, 1988. (BP40 .L53+) (2 v.)

Profil Propinsi Republik Indonesia.  Jakarta: Yayasan Bhakti Wawasan Nusantara, 1992. (DS615 .P97 1992) (27 v.) (in Indonesian)

Laos

Historical dictionary of Laos, 2nd ed.  Lanham, MD; London: Scarecrow Press, 2001. (DS555.5 .S78x 2001)

Malaysia

The encyclopedia of Malaysia.  Singapore: Archipelago Press, 1998-2005. (DS591.5 .E53 1998 +) (10 v.)

Ensiklopedia dunia Melayu.  Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: Piramid Perdana (M), 1997. (AE315.615 .E55x 1997+) (10 v.) (in Malay)

Ensiklopedia Malaysiana.  Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia: Anzagain, 1995. (AE35.615 .E59 1995+) (15 v.) (in Malay)

Historical dictionary of Malaysia, 2nd ed.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2001. (DS596 .K36x 2001)

Philippines

Dictionary of Filipino culture and values.  Quezon City: Giraffe Books, 1994. (DS663 .A528x 1994)

Encyclopedia of Philippine folk beliefs and customs.  Cagayan de Oro City, R.P.: Xavier University, 1991. (GR325.D37 D5 1991+) (2 v.)

Historical and cultural dictionary of the Philippines.  Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1973. (DS654 .M33)

Historical dictionary of the Philippines, 3rd ed.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2012. (Asia Ref DS667 .G85 2012)

Philippine encyclopedia of the social sciences.  Quezon City: Philippine Social Science Council, 1993-. (H41 .P55 1993.) (3 v.)

The University of the Philippines cultural dictionary for Filipinos.  Diliman, Quezon City: University of the Philippines Press, 2009. 2nd ed. (LB45 .K56 2009 +)

Singapore

Encyclopedia of Singapore.  Lanham, Md: Scarecrow Press, 2006. (DS610.4 .C67 2006 +)

Historical dictionary of Singapore. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, c2011. (Asia Ref DS610.4 .M85x 2011)

Singapore: the encyclopedia.  Singapore: Editions Didier Millet: National Heritage Board, 2006. (DS608.5 .S55 2006 +)

Thailand

Historical and cultural dictionary of Thailand.  Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1976. (DS563 .S64)

Historical dictionary of Thailand. Lanham : The Scarecrow Press, Inc., 2013.  3rd ed. (Ref DS571 .S578 2013)

Sārānukrom Thai: chabap khō̜ng Rātchabandittayasathān. Krung Thēp: Rātchabandittayasathān, 1956-. (PL4153 .S24) (26 v.) (in Thai)

Sārānukrom watthanatham phāk tai.  Songkhla, Thailand: Sathāban Thaksin Khadī Sưksā, Mahāwitthayālai Sīnakharinwirōt, 1986 (10 v.) (in Thai)

Vietnam

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War.  New York: Charles Scribner’s Sons, 1996. (DS557.7 .E53x 1996+)

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: a political, social, and military history.  Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, c2011. 2nd ed. (Ref DS557.7 .E53x 2011+)

Historical and cultural dictionary of Vietnam.  Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1976. (DS556.25 .W59)

Historical dictionary of Vietnam.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2006. (DS556.25 .D85 2006)

Historical dictionary of the War in Vietnam.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2011. (Ref DS557.7 .F735 2011)

Từ điển bách khoa Việt Nam.  Hà Nội: Nhà xuất bản Từ điển bách khoa, 2000-2005. (AE4 .T85 2000 +) (4 v.) (in Vietnamese)

Từ điển văn hóa Đông Nam Á phổ thông.  Hà Nội: Nhà xuất bản Văn hóa thông tin, 1999. (DS523.2 .N575 1999) (in Vietnamese) (1 copy also available in stacks)

Việt-Nam bách-khoa từ-điển= Vietnamese encyclopedic dictionary with annotations in Chinese, French and English. Saigon: s.n., 1960. (AE71.V6 V66 +) (3 v.) (in Vietnamese)

Webster’s new world dictionary of the Vietnam War. New York: Macmillan, c1999. (DS557.7 .W38x 1999)