Colonial Era Resources

The works listed in this guide have been selected because they have extensive references to the colonial period in Southeast Asia or because they were published in the colonial era. The time period of the colonial era varies according to country, beginning as early as the 16th century in the Philippines and as late as the mid 19th century for the countries of Indochina. Thailand was never colonized but works covering Thailand during the colonization of its neighbors are included. The colonial period ends in the years immediately following World War II.

Southeast Asia (general)

Bibliographies

Cordier, Henri. Bibliotheca indosinica : dictionnaire bibliographique des ouvrages relatifs a la peninsule Indochinoise. Paris : Imprimerie nationale, E. Leroux, 1912-15. 4 v. in 3 (Ref + Z 3221 .C79)

Friederici, Karl. Bibliotheca Orientalis. A complete list of books,papers, serials, essays, etc. published from the year 1876 to 1883 on the history, languages, religions, antiquities and literature of the East. Amsterdam, Oriental Press, 1967. (Ref Z3001 .F91 1967)

Heine-Geldern, Robert. "Suedostasien : Voelkerkundliche Bibliographie." Ethnologischer Anzeiger 1 (1928), pp. 110-154 ; 2 (1929-1932), pp. 349-392 ; 4 (1937), pp. 150-299. [not held by Cornell]

Hicks, George L. A bibliography of Japanese works on the overseas Chinese in Southeast Asia, 1914-1945. Hong Kong: Asian Research Service, c1992.
(+ Z3221 .H63)

Hobbs, Cecil C. Southeast Asia : an annotated bibliography of selectedreference sources . Washington, 1952. (+ Z3221 .U5)

___________. Southeast Asia, 1935-45 : a selected list of reference books. Washington, 1946. (Ref + Z3221 .U58)

Irikura, James K. Southeast Asia : Selected Annotated Bibliography ofJapanese Publications. New Haven, CT : Southeast Asia Studies, Yale University, in association with Human Relations Area Files, 1956. 
(Ref Z3221 .I68)

Marsden, William. Bibliotheca marsdeniana philologica et orientalis.  A catalogue of books and manuscripts collected with a view to the general comparison of languages, and to the study of Oriental literature. London, Printed by J. L. Cox, 1827. (Asia Rare + Z7050 .M36)

Matsui, Masato. Nan’yo = (South Seas) : an annotated bibliography. Honolulu, Hawaii : Center for Asian and Pacific Studies, Council for Japanese Studies, University of Hawaii, 1982. (Ref +Z3221 .M43)

Tregonning, Kennedy G. Southeast Asia : a critical bibliography (1969)
(Ref +Z3221 .T78)

Walravens, Hartmut . Deutsche Sudost- und Ostasienbibliographie, 1933-1943 : Niederlandisch-Indien, Franzosisch-Indochina, Siam, Philippinen, Britisch-Malaya und -Borneo, Mandschurei, Ostasien allgemein. Berlin : C. Bell, 1988. (Ref + Z3221 .W22)

Indexes

Sternstein, Larry and Carl Springer. An annotated bibliography of material concerning Southeast Asia from Petermanns Geographische Mitteilungen, 1855-1966. Bangkok : Siam Society, 1967. (Ref Z3221 .S83)

Burma

Bibliographies

Fausboll, V. Catalogue of the Mandalay manuscripts in the India Office Library. Woking and London : Gresham Press, 1897. [Reprinted from the Journal of the Pali Text Society] (Z6621.I46 P2)

Hall, D.G.E. "Bibliography of Anglo-Burmese relations." Bulletin of the International Committee of Historical Sciences (Paris) 11 (Oct. 1939): 545-554. (Olin D1 .I63) [this issue not held by Cornell]

Hobbs, Cecil C. "Reading list on Burma." Far Eastern Quarterly 5 (Nov. 1945): 60-66. (+ DS 501 .F24)

Hosten, H. and E. Luce. Bibliotheca catholica Birmana. Rangoon: British Burma Press, 1915.

Luce, G.H. and Pe Maung Tin. "Burma down to the fall of Pagan : an outline (part I)." Journal of the Burma Research Society 29 (1939): 264-284. 
(+ DS485.B79 B8)

Maingkaing Myo Sa. A bibliographic account of the Pitakas and other Burmese literature. Rangoon (1906) (in Burmese)

Quigly, Elizabeth P. Some observations on libraries, manuscripts and books of Burma from the 3rdd century A.D. to 1886. London : Arthur Probsthain (1956) (Z3207.B8 Q7)

Periodicals

Journal of the Burma Research Society . Rangoon : The Society, 1911-1981 
 (+ DS485.B79 B8)

Cambodia

Bibliographies

Aschmoneit, Walter. Kampuchea. Munster : SZD-Verlag, 1981. v. 1 : Sozialhistorische Bibliographie zu Kampuchea von der Vorgeschichte bis 1954. (Ref Z3226 .A85)

Feer, M.L. "Etudes cambodgiennes." Journal asiatique, VIIe serie, IX (1877) pp. 161-234. (PJ4 .J86)

Periodicals

Kambuja suriya. Phnom Penh, 1927-1948. (Film 10849)

Indochina

Bibliographies

Auvade, Robert. Bibliographie critique des oeuvres parues sur l’Indochine francaise. Paris : G.P. Maisonneuve & Larose, 1965. (Ref Z3226 .A94)

"Bibliographie." In Bulletin de la Societe academique indo-chinoise, 2e serie, t. 1-3 (1881-1890). t. 1, pp. 235-357 ; t. 2, pp. 325-410 ; t.3, pp. 399-540. 
(DS501 .S67)

Bibliographie de l’Indochine francaise. Supplement. Hanoi : Direction  des archives et des bibliotheques, 1924-1925. 2nd-12th supplements. 
(Z3226 .I42 Suppl.)

Brebion, Antoine. Bibliographie des voyages dans l’Indochine francaise du IXe au XIXe siecle. New York : Burt Franklin, 1970. [Reprint. Originally published in 1910] (Z3221 .B82 1970)

___________.Dictionnaire de bio-bibliographie generale ancienne et moderne de l’Indochine francais. Paris : Societe d’Editions Geographiques, Maritimes et Coloniales, 1935. (Ref + Z3226 .B82)

___________. Livre d’or du Cambodge, de la Cochinchine : et de l’Annam,1625-1910 : (biographie) et bibliographie. New York : Franklin, 1971. [Reprint: Originally published in 1910] (Ref Z3226.B82 L7 1971)

Boudet, Paul . Bibliographie de l’Indochine francaise. Hanoi, Imprimerie d’Extreme-Orient, 1929-67. 5 v. (Ref + Z3226 .B75)

Hobbs, Cecil C. Indochina : a Bibliography of the Land and People. Washington, 1950. (Ref + Z 3221 .U583)

Liste des imprimes deposes. French Indochina. Direction des archives et des bibliotheques. Hanoi, Impr. D’Extreme-Orient, 1925-1944. (Z3226 .I42)

Maybon, Charles. "Note sur les travaux bibliographiques concernant l’Indochine francaise." Bulletin de l’Ecole francaise d’Extreme-Orient, v. 10, no. 2 (Avril-Juin 1910), pp. 409-421. (+ DS 501 .E19)

Periodicals

Bulletin de la Societe des etudes indo-chinoises de Saigon. Societe des etudes indochinoises. Saigon, 1883-1975. (+ AS492 .S67)

Revue indo-chinoise. Hanoi, F.H. Schneider, 1893-1925. (Film 1337)

La Revue indochinoise juridique & economique. Hanoi : Imprimerie d’Extreme-Orient, 1937-1943. (HB3 .R45)

Indexes

Hill, R. D. Index indochinensis : an English and French index to Revue indochinoise, Extreme-Asie, Extreme-Asie—Revue indochinoise, and La Revue indochinoise juridique et economique. Hong Kong : Centre of Asian Studies, University of Hong Kong, 1983. (Ref Z3226 .H64)

Tran Anh Tuan. Thu tich chu giai lich su Viet Nam qua cac tap chi Phap ngu, 1865-1970. Saigon, 1972. [index to: Bulletin de l’Ecole Francaise d’Extreme-Orient, Bulletin de la Societe des Etudes Indochinoises, Excursions et Reconnaissances,France Asie, Revue Indochinoise] 
(Ref ++ Z 3228 .V5 T76)

Indonesia

Encyclopedias

Encyclopaedie van Nederlandsch-Indie. ‘s-Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1917-1939. 8 v. (Ref + DS633 .E56 1917)

Beknopte encyclopaedie van Nederlandsch-Indie. ‘s-Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1921. (Ref +DS633 .E56 1921)

Encyclopaedie van Nederlandsch-Indie, met medewerking van verschillende ambtenaren, geleerden en officieren. ‘s Gravenhage ; Leiden : M. Nijhoff, 1895-1905. 4 v. (Asia Rare +DS633 .E56)

Bibliographies

Boomgaard, Peter. The colonial past : Dutch sources on Indonesian history. Amsterdam : Royal Tropical Institute, c1991. (Ref Z3276 .C714)

Catalogus der bibliotheek van het Indisch Genootschap te ‘s Gravenhage. ‘s Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1869. (Ref Z3279 .I39)

Chijs, Jacobus Anne van der. Proeve eener Ned : Indische bibliographie (1659-1870). Batavia : Bruining & Wijt, 1875. (Asia Rare + AS522 .B29 v.37) pp. 1-325

__________. Proeve eener Ned. Indische bibliographie, 1659-1870 :Vermeerderde en verbeterde herdruk voor de jaren 1659-1720, supplement en verbeteringen voor de jaren 1721-1870. Batavia : W. Bruining, 1880 
  (Asia Rare +AS522 .B29 v. 39)

__________. Proeve eener Ned. Indische bibliographie (1659-1870)Supplement II .... Batavia, Albrecht, 1903. (AS522 .B29 v. 55)

Dennys, N.B. "A contribution to Malayan bibliography." Journal of the Straits Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society. no. 5 (June 1880), pp. 69-123 ; no. 6 (December 1880), pp. 225-272 (AS 492 .R88)

Echols, John M. Preliminary checklist of Indonesian imprints during the Japanese period (March 1942-August 1945) with annotations. Ithaca, N.Y., Modern Indonesia Project, Southeast Asia Program, Dept. of Southeast Asian Studies, Cornell University, 1963. (Ref + Z3278 .A5 E18)

Hartmann, A. Repertorium op de literatuur betreffende de Nederlandsche kolonien voor zoover zij verspreid is in tijdschriften en mengelwerken Meteen alphabetisch zaaken plaats-register [1866- 1932]. ‘sGravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1895 9 v. (Ref Z2451.C7 R42)

Hooykaas, J.C. Repertorium op de koloniale litteratuur, of Systematische inhoudsopgaaf van hetgeen voorkomt over de kolonien (beoosten de Kaap) in mengelwerken en tijdschriften van 1595 tot 1865 uitgegeven in Nederland en zijne overzeesche bezittingen. Amsterdam, P. N. van Kampen & zoon, 1877-80. 2 v. (Ref Z2451.C7 R41)

Jaquet, F. G. P. Overzicht van publikaties uitgegeven door het Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1851-1976. Leiden : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1976. (Ref +Z2433 .J19)

Kan, Cornelius Marius. Proeve eener geographische bibliographie van Nederlandsch Oost-Indie voor de jaren 1865-1880. Utrecht : J.L. Beijers, 1881 (Ref Z6027.I5 K16)

Library of Congress. General Reference and Bibliography Division.Netherlands East Indies, a bibliography of books published after 1930, and periodical articles after 1932, available in U.S. libraries. Washington, 1945. (Ref + Z 3276 .U58)

Nagelkerke, Gerard A. Bibliografisch overzicht uit periodieken over Indonesië 1930-1945 = Bibliographical survey based on periodicals on Indonesia. Leiden : Bibliotheek Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1974. (Ref + Z3276 .N14)

Rouffaer, G.P. Catalogus der Koloniale Bibliotheek van het Kon. Instituut voor de Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde van Ned. Indie en het Indisch Genootschap. ‘s-Gravenhage : M. Nijhoff, 1908. 7 v. (Ref Z3279 .I59)

Bali

Likkerkerker, C. Bali en Lombok; overzicht der litteratuur omtrent deze eilanden tot einde 1919. Rijswijk : Blankwaardt & Shoonhoven, 1920. 
(Ref Z 3277 .B3 B18)

Lombok

Likkerkerker, C. Bali en Lombok; overzicht der litteratuur omtrent deze eilanden tot einde 1919. Rijswijk : Blankwaardt & Shoonhoven, 1920. 
(Ref Z 3277 .B3 B18)

Maluku

Rony, A. Kohar and Iêda Siqueira Wiarda. The Portuguese in Southeast  Asia : Malacca, Moluccas, East Timor. Hamburg : Abera Verlag Meyer & Co., c1997. (Ref Z 3221 .R66 1997) (Abera bibliographies ; vol. 1)

New Guinea

Rye, E.C. "A bibliography of New Guinea." Royal Geographical Society. Supplementary Papers vol. 1, part 2 (1884), pp. 287-337. (Olin G7 .R883)

Timor

Rony, A. Kohar and Iêda Siqueira Wiarda. The Portuguese in Southeast Asia : Malacca, Moluccas, East Timor. Hamburg : Abera Verlag Meyer & Co., c1997. (Ref Z 3221 .R66 1997) (Abera bibliographies ; vol. 1)

Periodicals

De Indische gids. Amsterdam [etc.] J. H. de Bussy [etc.] 1879-1941. 
(DS611 .I39)

Koloniaal tijdschrift. Batavia [etc.] : Vereeniging van Ambtenaren  bij het Binnenlandsch Bestuur in Nederlandsch-Indie, 1912-1941. (JV2501 .K61)

Koloniale studien, tijdschrift van de Vereeniging voor studie van kolonial-maatschappelijk vraagstukken. Weltevreden : Albrecht and Co. [Etc.], 1916-1941. (JV2501 .K62)

Tijdschrift voor het binnenlandsch bestuur. Batavia [etc.] G. Kolff  & Co., 1887-1917. (JV2501 .T56)

Tijdschrift voor Indische taal-, land- en volkenkunde. Djakarta [etc.] Koninklijk Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen [etc.], 1852-1955. (DS611 .T56)

Tijdschrift voor Nederlandsch Indie. Batavia [etc.] Ter Lands-drukkerij [etc.] 1838-1902 (DS611 .T6)

Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch Gennootschap der Kunsten en Weetenschappen. Bandoeng [etc.] A.C. Nix [etc.], 1779-1950. (+AS522 .B29) (v. 1-41 in Asia Rare)

Indexes

Buur, Dorothee. Alfabetisch persoonsnamenregister behorende bij A. Hartmann’s Repertorium op de literatuur betreffende de Nederlandsche kolonien, voor zoover zij verspreid is in tijdschriften en mengelwerken. Leiden : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1974. 
(Ref Z2451.C7 R42 index)

__________. Alfabetisch persoonsnamenregister : behorende bij J.C. Hooykaas’ "Repertorium op de Koloniale litteratuur mengelwerken en tijdschriften van 1595-1865 uitgegeven" : met een index op schepen. Leiden : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde, 1981. 
(Ref Z2451.C7 R41 index)

Delden, E. E. van. Acht algemene tijdschriften, 1834-1864. Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1993. (Ref Z 3278 .A4 D34)

____________. Indisch Genootschap, 1854-1940 : Handelingen en geschriften, 1854-1860, Verslagen der algemeene vergaderingen, 1861-1919, Verslagen der  vergaderingen, 1920-1949. Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1988. (Ref Z3274 .D34)

____________. Tijdschrift voor het binnenlandsch bestuur : [register en bibliografie]. Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1986-1987. 3 v. (Ref JV2501 .T56 Index 1986)

____________. Tijdschrift voor Nederlandsch Indie : [register en bibliografie].  Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1990-1992. 2 v. 
(Ref DS611 .T6 index)

Doorn, Marlene van. De Indische gids, 1879-1941 . Amsterdam : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1979. (Ref +HN701 .I522 D69)

Kano, Hiroyoshi."Naimu gyosei zasshi" shoshu ronbun kiji mokuroku = A catalogue of the articles in Tijdschrift voor het binnenlandsch bestuur. Tokyo : Tokyo Daigaku Toyo Bunka Kenkyujo Fuzoku Toyogaku Bunken Senta, 1985. (Ref + Z7165.I5 K36)

Kano, Hiroyoshi."Shokuminchi zasshi" (Koloniaal tijdschrift) shoshu ronbun mokuroku. Tokyo : Tokyo Daigaku Toyo Bunka Kenkyujo Fuzoku Toyogaku Bunken Senta, Showa 59 [1984]. (Z7165.I5 K361)

Klein Repertorium van couranten uit voormalig Nederlands Indie. ‚s- Gravenhage : Koninklijk Instituut voor Taal-, Land- en Volkenkunde ; Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen ; Koninklijke Bibliotheek, 1988. 
(Ref +Z6956 .N45 K64)

Lian The. The Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch Genootschap : an annotated content analysis. Athens, Ohio University, Center for International Studies, 1973. (Ref +DS501 .O37 no.26)

Register op de artikelen voorkomende in het Tijdschrift voor Indische taal, land- en volkenkunde : en de Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen, loopende tot het jaar1907, benevens een inhoudsopgave tevens prijslijst van’s Genootschaps uitgaven bijgewerkt tot Juni 1908.        Batavia : Albrecht & Co., 1908. 
(Ref +AS522 .B29 index 1908)

Register op de Indische couranten, 1810-1923. ‘s-Gravenhage : Algemeen Rijksarchief, 198- (Microfiche 873)

Register op de uitgaven van het Koninklijk Bataviaasch Genootschap van Kunsten en Wetenschappen, 1920-1940. Bandoeng : A.C. Nix, 1942. 
(Ref +AS522 .B29 index 1920-1940)

Register op de Verhandelingen van het Bataviaasch genootschap : deel LVI (5e stuk)-LXI (1907-1919) en het Tijdschrift voor Indische taal-, land- en volkenkunde, deel LI-LVIII (1909-1919). Weltevreden : N. v. unitg.-mit "Papyrus", 1920. (Ref AS522 .B29 index 1908-1919)

Telkamp, Gerard J. Bouwstoffen voor de sociaal-economischegeschiedenis  van Indonesie van ca. 1800 tot 1940 ; een beschrijvende bibliografie: Koloniale StudiËen, 1916-1941, Koloniaal Tijdschrift, 1912-1941. Amsterdam,        (Mauritskade 63) : Koninklijk Instituut voor de Tropen, 1977. 
(Ref + Pamphlet Z697)

Laos

Bibliographies

Kene, Thao. Bibliographie du Laos. Vientiane, Laos : Edition du Comite litteraire, 1958. (Ref + Z 3228 .L3 K33)

Periodicals

Bulletin des "Amis du Laos" . Societe des amis du Laos. Hanoi, 1937- 1940. (Film 1071)

Malaya

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Dennys, N.B. A descriptive dictionary of British Malaya. London : "London and China Telegraph" Office, 1894. (Ref +DS592 .D41)

Bibliographies

Daniel, Padma. "A descriptive catalogue of the books relating to Malaysia in the Raffles Museum & Library, Singapore." Journal of the Malayan Branch, Royal Asiatic Society, vol.19, pt. 3 (Dec. 1941) (AS492        .R881)

Dennys, N.B. "A contribution to Malayan bibliography." Journal of the Straits Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society. no. 5 (June 1880), pp. 69-123 ; no. 6 (December 1880), pp. 225-272 (AS 492 .R88)

__________. "Bibliography" in: Dennys, N.B. A descriptive dictionary of British Malaya. London : "London and China Telegraph" Office, 1894, pp. 22-49. 
(Ref +DS592 .D41)

Rony, A. Kohar and Iêda Siqueira Wiarda. The Portuguese in Southeast Asia : Malacca, Moluccas, East Timor. Hamburg : Abera Verlag Meyer & Co., c1997. (Ref Z 3221 .R66 1997) (Abera bibliographies ; vol. 1)

Solomon, Eli. Sir Thomas Stamford Raffles : a comprehensivebibliography. Singapore : Singapore Resource Library, National Library Board, 1997. 
(Ref + DS 646 .26 .R3 S65x 1997)

Turnbull, C.M. "Bibliography of writings in English on British Malaya, 1786-1867." Journal of the Malayan Branch, Royal Asiatic Society, vol. 33, pt. 3 (1960) pp. 327-424. (AS492 .R881)

Winstedt, Richard. "Bibliography" in "A History of classical Malay literature." Journal of the Malayan Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society, vol. 31, pt. 3 (June 1958) pp. 250-259

Philippines

General Works

Blair, Emma Helen. The Philippine Islands, 1493-1803; explorations by early navigators, descriptions of the islands and their peoples, their history and records of the Catholic missions, as related in contemporaneous books and manuscripts, showing the political, economic, commercial and religious conditions of those islands from their earliest relations with European nations to the beginning of the nineteenthe century; translated from the originals. Cleveland, O. : The A.H. Clark Company, 1903-09. 55 v. (DS653.B63 P5)

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Cornejo, Miguel R. Cornejo’s Commonwealth directory of the Philippines. Manila : Miguel R. Cornejo, 1939. (+ DS654 .C81)

Galang, Zoilo M. Encyclopedia of the Philippines. Manila : Exequiel Floro, 1950-1958. 20 v. (DS655 .G14 1950)

___________. Encyclopedia of the Philippines : the library of Philippine literature, art and science. Manila, P. Vera, 1935. 10 v. (DS 655 .G14)

Manuel, E. Arsenio. Dictionary of Philippine biography. Quezon City, Filipiniana Publications, 1955-1986. 3 v. (Ref DS653.7 .M29)

Villarroel, Hector K. Eminent Filipinos. Manila : National Historical Commission, 1965. (Ref CT1793 .A5)

Bibliographies

Agoncillo, Teodoro A. Tagalog periodical literature. Manila, 1953. 
(Ref Z7101 .A75)

Bernardo, Gabriel A. Bibliography of Philippine bibliographies. Quezon City : Ateneo de Manila University, 1968. (Ref +Z3294 .Q55 no.2)

______________. Philippine retrospective national bibliography : 1523-1699. Manila : National Library of the Philippines, 1974. (Ref + Z3294 .Q55 no.3a)

Bibliography of the Philippine Islands. Library of Congress and the Bureau of Insular Affairs, War Department, 1903. (Ref Z3291.U58)

Cruikshank, Bruce. Filipiniana in Madrid : field notes on five major manuscript collections. Honolulu, HI : Philippine Studies Program, Center for Asia and Pacific Studies, University of Hawaii, 1984.  (Ref +Z3296 .C95)

Houston, Charles, Orville. "Bibliographical Note and Bibliography."Journal of East Asiatic Studies, v. 4, no. 2 (April 1955), pp. 173-244. (DS501 .J8)

________. "A preliminary bibliography of Philippine anthropology, linguistics, ethnology and archeology." Journal of East Asiatic Studies, v. 2, no. 2 (Jan. 1953), pp. 55-110. (DS501 .J8)

________. Philippine bibliography. Manila, Philippines : University of Manila, 1960. (Asia Rare Z3291 .H84)

Literary index, 1932-1945. Diliman, Quezon City : The Library, University of the Philippines, 1971. (Ref +Z3298 .L5 L77)

Martinez de Zuniga, Joaquin. Estadismo de las Islas Filipinas, o Misviajes por este pais. Madrid : M. Minuesa de las Rios, 1893. 2 v (Film 5712 reel 68 no.4- reel 69 no.1 ; Asia Rare DS658 .M38)

Medina, Jose Toribio. Bibliografia espanola de las islas Filipinas, 1523- 1810. Amsterdam : N. Israel, 1966. [Reprint. Originally published: Santiago de Chile, 1897] (Ref Z3296 .M49 1966)

_________. La imprenta en Manila : desde sus origenes hasta 1810. With Adiciones y ampliaciones . Amsterdam : N. Israel, 1964. [Reprint. Originally published: Santiago de Chile, 1896 and 1904] (Ref Z212 .M49 R4 no.9)

Pardo de Tavera, T.H. Biblioteca filipina : o sea Catalogo razonado de todos los impresos, tanto insulares como extranjeros, relativos a la historia, la etnografia, la linguistica, la botanica, la fauna, la flora, la geologia, la hidrografia, la geografia, la legislacion, etc., de las  islas Filipinas, de Jolo y Mariana. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1903 
(Ref +Z3291 .U582 ; Ref Z3291 .U58)

The Philippines during the Japanese regime, 1942-1945 : an annotated list of the literature published in or about the Philippines during the Japanese occupation. Manila, 1945. (Asia Rare + Z3296 .U58)

Retana, W.E. Aparato bibliografico de al histoira general de Filipinas : deducido de la coleccion que posee en Barcelona la Comania General de Tabacos de dichas islas. Madrid, 1906. 3 v. (Film 5712 reel 73 no.3- reel 74 no.1 ; Asia Rare +Z3291 .R43 A6)

_________. Archivo del bibliofilo filipino : recopilacion de documentos historicos, cientificos, literarios y politicos, y estudios bibliograficos. Madrid, 1895-1905. 5 v. (Film 5712 reel 74 no.2- reel 75 no.1 ; Asia Rare Z3291 .R43 ; Microfiche 887 SEI 93 82241)

_________. Bibliografia de Mindanao (epitome). Madrid, 1894. (Film 5712 reel 75 no.2 ; Ref Z 3297 .M6 T55; Rare Z3297 .M6 R43 ; Microfiche 887 SEI 93 82064)

Robertson, James Alexander. Bibliography of the Philippine islands, printed and manuscript, preceded by a descriptive account of the most important archives and collections containing Philippina. Cleveland : Arthur H. Clark, 1908 [Reprint : 1970] (Ref Z3291 .R65 1970)

Sanz, Carlos. Bibliografia descriptiva y critica de libros filipinos dedon Antonio Graino. Manila : Instituto Nacional de Historia, 1976. (Ref Z3299 .S23)

Tiamson, Alfredo T. Mindanao-Sulu bibliography : containing published, unpublished manuscripts, and works-in-progress : a preliminary survey ; and W.E. Retana’s Bibliografia de Mindanao (1894). Davao City : Ateneo        de Davao, 1970. (Ref Z3297 .M6 T55)

Tubangui, Helen R. A catalog of Filipiniana at Valladolid. Quezon City : Ateneo de Manila University Press, 1973]. (+Z3294 .Q55 no.4)

Wickberg, E. B. "Spanish records in the Philippine National Archives."American Historical Review 35 (1955) 77-89.

Manila

Camagay, Maria Luisa T. Social history of Manila, 1765-1898 : anannotated bibliography. 1989 (Ref Z3297 .M2 C17)

Periodicals

Bulletin of the American Historical Collection. Manila : American Association of the Philippines, 1972- (DS651 .A51)

Thailand

General Works

Graham, Walter Armstrong. Siam. London : A. Moring Ltd., 1924. 
(DS565 .W73 1924) (2 v.)

Bibliographies

Graham, Walter Armstrong. "Bibliography." In Siam. London : A. Moring Ltd., 1924. v. 1, pp. 289-304 (DS565 .W73 1924)

Kawabe, Toshio. Bibliography of Thai studies. Tokyo : Tokyo University of Foreign Studies, Institute of Foreign Affairs, 1957. (Ref Z3236 .K22)

Landon, Kenneth Perry. "Bibliography." In Siam in transition; a brief survey of cultural trends in the five years since the revolution of 1932. Chicago, Ill., Distributed by the University of Chicago press; Shanghai, Kelly, ltd., 1939, pp. 237-247. (DS584 .L25)

Satow, E.M. "Essay towards a bibliography of Siam." Journal of the Straits Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society. no. 17 (June 1886), pp. 1-85 ; no. 18 (December 1886), pp. 161-189 (PJ4 .J86)

Schweisguth, P. "Bibliographie sommaire de la litterature siamoise." In Etude sur la litterature siamoise. Paris : Imprimerie Nationale Librairie d’Amerique et d’Orient, Adrien Maisonneuve, 1951. (Pl4200 .S41)

Thompson, Virginia McLean. "Bibliography." In Thailand, the new Siam. New York, Macmillan, 1941, pp. 807-830 (DS565 .T48)

Vietnam

(see also Indochina)

Encyclopedias

Teston, Eugène. L’Indochine moderne; encycolpédie administrative, touristique, artistique et économique. Paris : Librairie de France, 1932. (Ref + DS541 .T34)

Bibliographies

Barbie du Bocage, V. A. Bibliographie annamite. Paris : Ministere de la Marine et des Colonies, 1866. [Detached from: Revue maritime et coloniale, v. 16 (Feb. 1866), v. 17 (May 1866) and v. 18 (Aug. 1866)] (Ref + Z3228.V5 B23)

Bellecombe, Andre Ursule Casse de. "Bibliographie annamique." In Cortambert, E. Tableau de la Cochinchine. Paris : A. Le Chevalier, 1862. pp. 335-343. (DS 557 .C7 C82)

d’Ufford, J.K.W. Quarles. "La Cochinchine : litterature concernant ce pays." Annales de l’Extreme-orient. No. 1 (1878), pp. 311-319. (+DS 501 .A61)

Finot, Louis. "Publications relatives a l’Indochine." Journal asiatique (Sept.-Oct. 1913) pp 425-442. (PJ4 .J86)

Gaspardone, Emile. Bibliographie annamite. Paris : Impr. nationale, 1934. 
(Ref + Z3228.V5 G24)

Jumper, Roy. Bibliography on the political and administrative history of Vietnam, 1802-1962. Saigon : Michigan State University, Vietnam  Advisory Group, 1962. (Ref + Z3228.V5 J94) Note: Re-published in 1980 under the title: Vietnam, an annotated bibliography (+ Z3228.V5 J94 1980)

Periodicals

Excursions et reconnaissances. Cochin China. Saigon, 1879-1890. 
(Film 6023 ; Asia Rare DS557.C7 A5)

Nam phong. Hanoi, 1917-1934. (Film 138)

Indexes

Pham, Thi Ngoan. Index analytique du Nam phong. Paris : Universite de Paris VII, 1978. (Ref + AP95.V5 N1652)

Nguyen, Khac Xuyen. Muc-luc phan-tich tap-chi Nam-Phong, 1917-1934. Saigon : Bo Van-Hoa Giao-Duc, 1968 (Ref AP 95 .V6 N165 index)