British Government Resources

General Catalogs

Great Britain. Her Majesty's Stationery Office. HMSO monthly catalogue. London : Her Majesty's Stationery Office, c1986- Feb. 1986-(Olin Ref Z2009.G782)

______________. Annual catalogues of British official and parliamentary publications, 1894-1935. Bishops Stortford : Chadwyck-Healey ; Teaneck, N.J. : Somerset House, 1974-1975. 3 v. (Olin Ref Z2009 .G7805)

______________. Consolidated list of government publications. London : H.M.S.O., 1937-[1951] 1936-1950. (Olin Ref Z2009 .G781)

______________. Government publications, consolidated list for ... London : H.M.S.O., [1952-1954] 1951-1953. (Olin Ref Z2009 .G781)

______________. Government publications catalogue. London : H.M.S.O., [1955-1956] 1954-1955. (Olin Ref Z2009 .G781)

______________.Catalogue of government publications. London : H.M.S.O., 1957-1972. 1956-1971. (Olin Ref Z2009 .G781)

______________. Government publications. London : H.M.S.O., 1973-1976. 1972-1975. (Olin Ref Z2009 .G781)

______________. Government publications of ... : Her Majesty's Stationery Office annual catalogue. London : H.M.S.O., c1978-1985. 1976-1984. (Olin Ref Z2009 .G781)

______________. HMSO annual catalogue. London : HMSO, c1986- . 1985- (Olin Ref Z2009 .G781)

Blackmore, Ruth Matteson. Cumulative index to the annual catalogues of Her Majesty's Stationery Office publications, 1922-1972. Washington, D.C. : Carrollton Press, 1976. 2 v. (Olin Ref + Z2009.G781 B62)

Catalogue of British official publications not published by HMSO. Cambridge, England : Chadwyck-Healey, 1981- . 1980- (Olin Ref + Z 2009 .C35)

 

Guides

Collected papers on resources for area studies. London : Foreign and Commonwealth Office, Overseas Development Administration Library, c1985. (Olin + D16.25 .C69)

Thurston, Anne. Sources for colonial studies in the Public Record Office. v. 1.

Records of the Colonial Office, Dominions Office, Commonwealth Relations Office and Commonwealth Office. London : HMSO, 1995- (British documents on the end of empire. Series C ; v. 1-2. ) (Olin + CD 1043 .3 T54 1995 v.1)

 

Indexes (General)

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Colonial Office : colonies general supplementary original correspondence, 1759-1955 (CO 537) & colonies general register of secret correspondence, 1865-1938 (CO 694). Kew, Richmond, Surrey : List and Index Society, 1988. (Olin ++ CD1040 A25 v.231)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Index to the correspondence of the Foreign Office. Nendeln, Kraus-Thomson. 1920-1951. 131 v. (Olin + DA566.7 .A23)

_____________. Indexes to the 'green' or secret papers among the general correspondence of the Foreign Office. Nendeln, Liechtenstein, Kraus-Thomson, 1969- . 1921-1940. (Olin + DA566.7 .A231)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Library. Catalogue of the Foreign Office Library, 1926-1968. Boston, G. K. Hall, 1972. (Olin ++ Z921 .G78 1972)

Great Britain. Public Record Office. The records of the Foreign Office 1782- . London, H.M. Stationery Off., 1969. (Olin CD1051 .G78)

_____________. List of Colonial Office confidential print to 1916. London, H. M. Stationery Off., 1965. (Olin CD1052 .A55)

 

Indexes (Southeast Asia)

Kratoska, Paul H. High Commissioner's Office (Chinese Affairs) : a select list of files. Office of the High Commissioner : a select list of files on Borneo (1897-1914). A select list of the Federal Secretariat files (1948-1954). A select list of Malayan Union confidential and secret files. A select list of Malayan Union files. Pulau Pinang : Perpustakaan Universiti Sains Malaysia, 1990. (Senarai bibliografi ; no. 38) (Ref   + CD 2291 .M34 K72w 1990)

_____________. Index to British Colonial Office files pertaining to British Kuala Lumpur : Arkib Negara Malaysia, 1990-(Ref + DS 596 .6 .I38)

_____________.A select list of files of the Office of the High Commissioner for the Malay States held by Arkib Negara Malaysia, 1897-1942. Pinang, Pulau Pinang : Perpustakaan, Universiti Sains Malaysia, 1990. (Senarai bibliografi ; no. 37) (Ref + Z3246 .K735x 1990)

Willer, Thomas F. Southeast Asia references in the British parliamentary papers, 1801-1972/73 : an index. Athens : Ohio University, Center for International Studies, 1978. (Ref + DS501 .O37 no.48)

Sarasangkhep ekkasan khong Krasuang Kantangprathet Angkrit kieokap Prathet Thai = Abstracts of British Foreign Office documents relating to Thailand . Bangkok : Sathaban Thaikhadisuksa, Mahawitthayalai Thammasat, 2525-[1982-] (Ref + DS 575 .5 .G7 G77 1982)

 

Bibliographies

Great Britain. Colonial Office. An annotated bibliography on land tenure in the British and British protected territories in South East Asia and the Pacific. London : H.M. Stationery Off., 1952] (+ Z 7164 .L3 G7)

 

Encyclopedias

Imperial gazetteer of India ... Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1907-31. 26 v. (Ref DS 405 .I34)

Lowis, C. C. (Cecil Champain), 1866- . Burma. Calcutta : Supt. of Govt. Print., 1908. 2 v. (Imperial gazetteer of India. Provincial series. ) (DS 485 .B8 L91)

 

Periodicals/Series

Great Britain. Colonial Office. The colonial territories. London, H.M.Stationery Off. 1939/47-1961/62. (Olin JV33.G7 A4)

Colonial annual reports. London : H.M. Stationery Off. (call # varies)

Colonial reports. London : H.M. Stationery Off. (call # varies)

Colonial Research Studies. London, H. M. Stationery Off., 1950-1963. (call # varies)

 

Collections of Documents

General

Great Britain House of Commons.Parliamentary papers [microform]. London : Her Majesty's Stationery Office, 1980- (Olin Microfiche 454)

British and foreign state papers. London : James Ridgway and Sons, 1841-1977. Vol. 1, pt. 1 (1812-1814)-v. 170. (Law JX103 .A3)

Southeast Asia

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office Confidential Print. Part I, From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series E, Asia,1860-1914. University Publications of America, c1989-30 v. (v. 26. South-East Asia: China, India, Burma, Siam and Tibet, 1850-1908 -- v.27. South-East Asia: Siam, Malaya and Indochina, 1856-1914 -- v. 28. South-East Asia: Sulu, Sarawak, Borneo and Brunei, 1843-1879 -- v. 29. South-East Asia: Sulu, Sarawak, Borneo and Brunei, 1879-1905) (Olin ++ JX 632 .B864)

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Southeast Asia Dept. [Records of the Colonial Office, Southeast Asia Department, 1951-1953] [microform]. Kew, Richmond, Surrey : Public Records Office, 1984. 49 reels (Film 10092)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Historical Section. Peace handbooks. Issued by the Historical Section of the Foreign Office. London, H.M. Stationery Office, 1920. (v.12. China, Japan, Siam.--v.13. Persian Gulf: French and Portuguese possessions.--v.14. Dutch and British possessions.) (Olin D 6 .G78)

Malaya/Straits Settlements/Singapore

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Singaporecorrespondence relating to affairs in the Colony of Singapore, 1946-1951 [microform]. Kew, Richmond, Surrey : Public Record Office, 1984. 11 reels (Film 8864)

Great Britain. Colonial Office. Straits Settlements : original correspondence. London, 1838-1932 [microform]. 584 v. (593 reels) (Film 228)

Great Britain. Colonial Office. supplementary, 1873-1898[microform]. London : Public Record Office, 1966. 3 reels (Film 228 suppl.)

Great Britain. Colonial Office. [Straits Settlements, register of correspondence (C.O. 426) 1867 to 1931] [microform]. Richmond, Surrey : Public Record Office, 1978. 22 reels (Film 8654)

Stockwell, A. J. (ed.). Malaya. London : HMSO, 1995. (British documents on the end of empire. Series B ; v. 3) 3 v. (+ DS 597 .M35w 1995)

Borneo/Sulu

British North Borneo Chartered Company. Reports and other documents, 1881- 1911 [microform]. London : Recordak Microfilm Service, 1959. (Film 166)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Confidential print, F.O. 572:Borneo and Sulu, [microform] London : Public Record Office, [1966]. 4 reels (Film 1381)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. General correspondence, F.O. 12 : Borneo, 1842-1905. [microform] London : Public Record Office, 1966. 50 reels (Film 1379)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. General correspondence, F.O. 71: Sulu, 1849-1888. [microform] 19 reels (Film 1692)

Indochina/Vietnam

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Correspondence respecting the French treaty with Annam, and negotiations between France and China ... London : Harrison, 1886. (Parliament. Papers by command. C.--4655) (+ DS740.5.G7 A3 1874)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Documents relating to British involvement in the Indo-China conflict, 1945-1965. London : H. M. S. O., 1965. (DS550 .G79)

Thailand (Siam)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Confidential print, F. O. 422: Siam and South-East Asia, 1882-1954 [microform]. London, Public Record Office, 1966. 7 reels (Film 1380)

Great Britain. Foreign Office. Correspondence respecting the affairs of Siam. London : Printed for H.M.S.O. by Harrison, 1894. (Parliament. Papers by command. C.--7395.) (+ DS575 .G78 1894)

Diplomatic and consular reports. Annual series: Siam. Great Britain. Foreign Office. London, 1898,1900,1913 (HC4 .R53)

File concerning Harry Parkes' mission to Bangkok in 1856 from the Archives of Khana Kammakan Phitcharana lae Chatphim Ekkasan thang Prawatsat, 2518 [1975] (DS575.5.G7 F48)

Thailand (Siam), 1856-1883: FO 69, General correspondence before 1906, from the Public Record Office. [microform]Kew, Richmond, Surrey, Eng. : Public Record Office, 1979. 15 reels (Film 7277)

Thailand (Siam) : correspondence, memoranda, etc. from FO 371, FO 628, and PRO 30/33, covering the years 1867 to 1948.) [microform] Kew, Richmond, Surrey : Public Record Office, 1984. 53 reels (Film 9008)

Yearbooks

Foreign and Commonwealth Office. The Commonwealth yearbook. London : H.M.S.O., 1987- (Olin JN107 .C731 - l.v. ref) A Yearbook of the Commonwealth. London, 1966-1986. (Olin JN107 .C731)

The Commonwealth Relations Office list. London, H. M. Stationery Office. 1951-1965. (Olin JN107 .C73)

The Colonial Office list. London, H.M. Stationery Off. 1946-1966. (Olin JV33.G7 A3)

The Dominions office and Colonial office list ... comprising historical and statistical information respecting the oversea dominions and colonial dependencies of Great Britain... London, Waterlow & sons limited, 1862-1940. (Olin JV1005)

India Office

Bastin, John Sturgus, 1927- . Prints of South East Asia in the India Office Library the East India Company in Malaysia and Indonesia, 1789-1824. London : H. M. Stationery Off., 1979. (DS592.4 .B32)

_____________. The British in West Sumatra (1685-1825). A selection of documents, mainly from the East India Company records preserved in the India Office Library, Commonwealth Relations Office, London. Kuala

Lumpur, University of Malaya Press, 1965.(DS 646 .1 .B31) British policy in Asia : India Office memoranda. London : Mansell, 1980. (DA47.9.A7 B86)

Crawfurd, John, 1783-1868. The Crawfurd papers: a collection of official records relating to the mission of Dr. John Crawfurd sent to Siam by the government of India in the year 1821. Bangkok, National Library, 1915. Farnborough, Gregg, 1971. (DS565 .C89 1971)

India Office Library and Records. Catalogue of the Burney parabaiks in the India Office Library. London : British Library, 1985. (Ref + DS 529 .7 .I39)

India, district and provincial gazetteers [microform]. Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation, Co., 1979. 5107 fiche (Burma: fiche 1031-1239) (Microfiche 986)

Sladen, Edward Bosc, Sir, 1827-1890. Sladen collection[microform] : papers of Sir Edward Sladen, Chief Commissioner at Court of Mandalay, 1865-68, Commissioner of Tenasserim, 1872-76, and of Arakan, 1876-86. London : British Library, India Office Library and Records, 1985. 11 reels

Whitbread, Kenneth. Catalogue of Burmese printed books in the India Office Library. London, H.M. Stationery Off., 1969. (Z3220 .I39)

Guides (India Office)

Great Britain. India Office. A guide to the India Office records, 1600-1858 [microform]. London : Printed for the India Office by Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1919. (Film 10950 no.10)

India Office Library. A brief guide to biographical sources. London : India Office Library & Records, 1979. (+ Z5305 .I5 I53)

India Office Library. A guide to the India Office Library, with a note on the India Office Records. London, H.M.S.O. [1968, c1967] (Ref Z 792 .I39 1968)

India Office Library and Records. A general guide to the India Office Records . London : British Library, 1988. (Ref CD 1052 .I4 I53x 1988)

India Office Records. A brief guide to sources for the study of Burma in the India Office Records. London : India Office Library & Records, 1979. (Ref +DS527.2 .I39)

India Office Records. Sources for Burma. London : India Office Records, 1985. (Ref ++ DS 527 .2 .I39 S7)

Moir, Martin I. Archival materials in the London records of the East India Company and of the India Office relating to Southeast Asia. Kuala Lumpur : Dept. of History, University of Malaya, 1968. (+ Pamphlet DS314). Also as part of: International Conference on Asian History, 5th-10th August 1968, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. (paper no. 19)

Indexes (India Office)

East India Company. List of factory records of the late East India Company : preserved in the Record Department of the India Office, London. [s.l. : s.n.], 1897. (+ DS465.E13 L7)

_______________. List of marine records of the late East India Company, and of subsequent date, preserved in the Record Department of the India Office, London. London, 1896. (+ DS465.E13 L7)

Great Britain. India Office.East India (Parliamentary papers) : annual lists and general index of the Parliamentary papers relating to the East Indies published during the years 1801 to 1907 inclusive ... London : Printed for H.M.S.O., by Eyre and Spottiswoode, Ltd., 1909. (Ref + Z3205 .G78)

British policy in Asia : India Office memoranda. London : Mansell, 1980. (DA47.9.A7 B86)

Periodicals (India Office)

British Library, Oriental and India Office.OIOC newsletter. London : British Library, Oriental and India Office Collections, 1990-(autumn/winter 1990)- (Olin + Z792.I39 N55)

The British Library, India Office Library and Records, Oriental Collections newsletter. London : The British Library, 1987-1990. No. 39 (Sept. 1987)- no. 44 (spring/summer 1990). (Olin + Z792.I39 N55)

The British Library Reference Division, India Office Library and Records, Oriental Manuscripts and Printed Books newsletter. London : India Office Library and Records, 1983-1987. No. 29 (July 1983)-no. 37/38 (Mar. 1987). (Olin + Z792.I39 N55)

The British Library Reference Division, India Office Library and Records newsletter. London : India Office Library and Records, 1982-1983. No. 26 (July 1982)-no. 28 (Mar. 1983). (Olin + Z792.I39 N55)

India Office Library and Records. Newsletter. London : India Office Library and Records, 1974-1982. No. 1 (Jan. 1974)-no. 25 (Mar. 1982). (Olin + Z792.I39 N55)

India Office Library and Records report. India Office Library and Records. London. 1967/68-1984/85. (Olin Z791 .I39)