Databases

General Asia Databases

BAS: Bibliography of Asian Studies
The most thorough index to the last 40 years of English language scholarship on Asia. Subjects include Asian anthropology, arts, biography, economics, education, history, literature, philosophy, politics and government, religion, science and sociology.
Asian Film Online
Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Asian Law Online
Bibliography of English language materials on law and society covering all of Asia both by region and country. Includes books, chapters in books, journal articles and theses. Subject browse allows search by country, broad categories with titles listed by date.
Asia Studies Full-Text Online
Thousands of full text reports on 53 countries. Subjects include finance, trade, environment, human resources development, government, fisheries, tourism, education and women's studies.
Asian Educational Media Service
The Asian Educational Media Service website offers access to an annotated, searchable database of audio-visual media materials on Asia, providing a comprehensive database of educational media materials on the cultures and peoples of Asia which will assist instructors in their classroom teaching.
The National Bureau of Asian Research
The National Bureau of Asian Research is a nonprofit, nonpartisan institute that conducts advanced research on policy-relevant issues in Asia. It also serves as the global clearinghouse for Asia research conducted by specialists and institutions worldwide. This site gives information about NBR's governance, publications, policy activities, corporate programs and staff. It also contains AccessAsia, an NBR project which maintains a specialist database tracking the expertise and current research of leading experts on contemporary Asian affairs and full-text electronic versions of various issues of several of NBR's serial publications, including AccessAsia, AccessAsia review and NBR analysis.
The Asia Foundation
The Foundation supports programs in Asia that help improve governance and law, economic reform and development, women's empowerment, and international relations. The Asia Foundation, based in San Francisco, is a private non-profit, non-governmental organization working to promote the mutual interests of the USA and the countries of Asia and the Asia Pacific region. The website contains perspective papers and project reports on the countries where the Asia Foundation is active.
ASEM Research Platform
A Web site acting as a source of information about the Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM), a unique interregional forum established in 1996. The main goal of this site is to sensitize people at all levels of society in Europe and Asia for the ASEM process.
Asian American Drama
Includes plays, selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Asia Art Archive
Bibliography of Performing Arts in the East
Includes theater, dance, puppetry, cinema, plays, masks, martial arts in Western languages,
 

General (not-Asia) Databases

Factiva.com
News, commentary, images, company information and stock quotes. Includes more than 8,000 international newspaper and newswire publications.
Historical Abstracts
Covers world history (1450 to the present), excluding the U.S.A.
MLA: Modern Languages Association International Bibliography
Bibiographic references to scholarly works, literature, linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism in Chinese, English and other languages.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) daily reports, 1974-1996
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Economics Intelligence Unit
The Economist Intelligence Unit provides a constant flow of analysis and forecast on more that 200 countries and eight keys industries.
Project Muse
Full text access to the recent issues of over 300 peer-reviewed humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.
JSTOR
Full-text access to a range of journals, including major Asian Studies titles. Note that JSTOR does not include the most recent five years of articles for the journals it covers. Use Project Muse for finding recent articles.
ProQuest
Bibliographic references and abstracts to journal articles covering business, industry and management. Journals indexed include Asiaweek, Asian Affairs, Asian Folklore Studies, Asian Philosophy, Asian Survey, Far Eastern Economic Review, Film Review, Japan Echo, Japan Quarterly.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)
An authoritative source for doctoral dissertations and master's theses, mainly from North America.  Most dissertations and theses are available in full text, others in abstract only.  Please distinguish carefully between Ph.D. dissertations and master's theses, the former being typically far more authoritative and complete.
 

For more databases click here