AsiaCollections
Severinghaus Reading Room in Carl A. Kroch Library
Subscription Databases

Access Asia – General Asia
A clearinghouse for information on contemporary Asian affairs and policy-related issues; contains several databases, including a specialist database which tracks the expertise and current research of leading experts on contemporary Asian affairs.

Archives of the Communist Party of China China
The collection of the Chinese Communist Party’s documents from 1921 to the present.

Asia American Drama – General Asia
Includes plays, selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Bibliography of Asian Studies – General Asia
Contains more than 640,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

China Academic Journals (CAJ)China
Full-text electronic versions of 7,200 Chinese academic periodicals in the following areas: science-engineering, agriculture, medicine/hygiene, literature/history/philosophy, economics/politics/law, education/social science, and electronics/information science.  The database includes current issues as well as archives of back issues of journals (since 1915), and is reproduced with original pagination.

China Century Project – China

China Data OnlineChina
Comprehensive database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories.  Includes monthly and yearly reports on China’s macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China’s population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.  Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.

China: Trade, Politics and CultureChina
English language sources relating to historical interactions between China and the West from 1793-1980.  Compiled from the British Library, the University of London Library, Duke University Library, Yale Divinity Library, the British National Archives, the National Library of New  Zealand, the Church Missionary Society, and the Council for World Mission Library.

China Core Newspapers Database – China
Full-text access to over 1,000 newspapers since 2000.  Daily updates.

Chinese Ancient Texts Database (CHANT) – China
The complete collection of Chinese ancient works inscribed on carapace bones and bronze, and the select collection of Chinese ancient works written in bamboo and silk.

Cultural Revolution – China
The collection of documents related to China’s Cultural Revolution.

Dissertations of China (DOC)China
A comprehensive database of Master’s Doctoral, and Post-doctoral dissertations from China.  The database holds full-text or abstracts and other descriptive information of over 1 million dissertations from key Chinese research institutions from 1985 onward.  Monthly updates.

Dixiu – China
1.6 million titles of books, journals, and newspaper articles, dissertations, and conference papers.

Economist Intelligence Unit – General Asia
The Economist Intelligence Unit provides a constant flow of analysis and forecast on more that 200 countries and eight keys industries including …

Guo Xue Bao DianChina
3,903 titles of Chinese ancient works.

Index Islamicus – General Asia
Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.

Indiastat (available via the Internet) – South Asia
Indiastat.com is the authentic source for Indian statistics collection from the best sources information and statistics on
India.  Indiastat provides access to statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production, economic statistics, tourism, and business sectors such as bank and financial institutions, companies, cooperatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, and urban-rural settlements.

Japan KnowledgeJapan
Japan knowledge is an online reference collection of useful Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries, and databases, including Encyclopedia Nipponica (Nihon daihyakka zensho), Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, Daijisen, Nihon jinmei daijiten, Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki, JKN Who's Who and several language dictionaries published by Shogakukan.  It includes the full text of articles in the weekly magazine Shukan konomisuto, over 300 volumes of books from the Toyo Bunko series published by Heibonsha, Rand McNally world maps, and other items of cultural interest. It also includes URLS from academic/research centers and government sites as well as an online bookstore search.

Japanese Historical Maps – Japan
The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World. The collection was acquired by the University of California from the Mitsui family in 1949, and is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library.

Korean Studies Information Services System (KISS) Korea
Provides original academic theses and scholarship papers published from approximately 1200 professional institutes.

LEGALbase (available in Kroch Asia Collections and the Law Library) – Japan
Full-text online database of Japanese legal cases and statues.  LEGALbase covers all fields and court levels from 1947 to the present.

Magazine PlusJapan
Consists of following databases: Zasshi Kiji Sakuin, covers academic and special journals and Daigaku Kiyo (university bulletins) in the fields of the humanities, social sciences, science and technology, and medicine published after 1948. Janaru Indekkusu, covers business and general periodicals published since 1981. Gakkai Nenpo Kenkyu Hokoku Ronbun Soran, covers academic yearbooks, research papers and reports for 1945-1995.  Kaigai Sangyo Kigyo Joho KSK-SCANNER, covers journals in corporations and industry outside of Japan after 1984.

Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) – General Asia
MECAS is a systematic and non-evaluative bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.

National Index to Chinese Newspapers & PeriodicalsChina
Full-text access to 15 million titles from 15,000 newspapers and periodicals since 1857.

People’s Daily Database – China
Full-text access starting from the initial issue dated 1946.  Daily updates.

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC)China
275,000 records related to China’s laws and regulations and the Chinese government’s policies since 1949.  Quarterly updates.

RISS International Korea
RISS International provides full-text of Korean journal articles, theses and dissertations, MARC records, holdings of Korean University libraries with ILL, and more.

Si Ku Quan ShuChina
3,503 titles of Chinese classical works.

Web Oya Bunko – Japan
Web Oya provides access to the holdings (over 10,000 magazines titles and 70,000 books) of the Oya Soichi Library, known for its rare materials on Japanese media and popular culture.  

Daily Yomiuri OnlineJapan
The Daily Yomiuri, published in Tokyo by the Yomiuri Shimbun, has a circulation of 60,000, the highest of all the English-language dailies published by Japanese newspapers. In addition to stories by its own writers, The Daily Yomiuri provides translated articles, columns, and editorials from The Yomiuri Shimbun. Comprehensive coverage is provided of Japanese society and government, as well as business, politics,sports and culture.

About the Collection
Asia Collections History
Book Stack Maps
Cho Room Reservation Page
Directions to the Asia Collections
Hours
Past Asia Exhibitions
Staff

Information for Researchers

Area Information
No pages meet the criteria
Home | Cornell University Library | Cornell University | Login